twohundredseventy

Overcoming Deployment One Day at a Time

A Bubbly 2nd Birthday Blowout [Part 1]

on August 13, 2012

**This particular post is more geared toward the do-it-yourself party planners with tips and ideas.  It’s part of my twohundredseventy blog because this is something very special my husband & family got to do together before he leaves.  Enjoy.**

The days leading up to the dreaded 270-day deployment aren’t all bad.  This past weekend we celebrated my son’s 2nd birthday.  Thanks to Pinterest, Beth Kruse’s Custom Creations blog, a little imagination and my very helpful husband and inlaws, my son’s 2nd birthday party was a hit.  It was full of homemade decorations, semi-homemade cupcakes and activities all with the bubble theme.

 If you’re looking to make your own decorations for your next party, can I suggest not waiting until the night before?  It is very time consuming, but totally worth it to have some creative freedom.  Here’s some of the things my husband and I got to work on together-time I cherish right before the D-word.

Bubbly Party Favor Tags

ImageWhat I Used:

  • Card stock (Silver, indigo and powder blue)
  • Scissors
  • Printed notes (“Thanks for popping in!”)
  • Hole puncher
  • White ribbon
  • Bubbles and sunglasses (as the party favors)

How I Did It:

First, I found different size round objects around the house that I could trace onto the card stock.  Then I cut out 4 round “bubbles” in the various colors I bought for each party favor tag, and I arranged them in such a way to give them a little dimension.  Each tag turned out a little different than the last.

 My computer-savy husband designed the actual “Thank you” part of the party favor tag using a Microsoft software.  We printed an entire sheet of those on the powder blue card stock, cut them into oval shapes and placed them on the bubbly party favor tags.

I then punched a single hole into each tag, inserted the white ribbon and tied it around the favors.  Simple, cute and therapeutic to do yourself.

The homemade birthday banner was also very therapeutic.  

It’s a little crooked, but I was so thrilled with the final product. The bubbly birthday banner was very much worth the hours spent cutting, cutting and cutting.

What I Used:

  • Card stock (White, teal, silver, indigo)
  • Scissors
  • Letter stencils
  • Hole puncher
  • Elmer’s glue
  • White ribbon
  • Tape

How I Did It:

I traced all of the letters onto card stock then my awesome soldier/hubby spent his precious time cutting out every. single. letter.  (We listened to music, sang and acted silly the whole time.  It felt like elementary school art class.)  As he finished a letter, I would trace a bubbly cloud around the letter on the silver card stock then cut out those bubbly clouds.

That was the hard part.  Cutting out the ovals and cutting the white card stock in halves to make rectangles was the easiest of the cutting.  No special instructions needed there.

When everything was finally cut out, we began assembling the individual pieces.  White first, then the teal oval, followed by the silver bubbly cloud and ended with the letter.  Like the party favor tags, each piece looked a little different.

The next morning I whole punched two holes in the top corners of the white card stock and began stringing my ribbon through the holes.  I did not cut any ribbon until I had every hole strung because I’m notorious for cutting ribbon too short.

We hung it as best we could on the wall space allotted.  If you have a longer wall, use it!  Maybe then yours won’t end up a little crooked like mine.   I would also suggest using however much tape your little (or big) fingers can roll to hold the banner up.  That is…if you’re using tape.  The banner turned out to be much heavier than I expected.  I’ll know for next time, and there will be a next time.

*Phew*  Banner-DONE!

{Still} To Do:

Cupcakes

Activities

Party!

Stay tuned for “A Bubbly 2nd Birthday Blowout [Part 2]”

2 responses to “A Bubbly 2nd Birthday Blowout [Part 1]

  1. Adorable! I did my daughter’s sixth birthday in Lalaloopsy (right down to the cake) and had to make all the party decorations and gift bags myself, since they didn’t have any on the market yet (I don’t know if they do now or not). It’s hard work, but worth it.

    • baywifey270 says:

      Thanks so much! I loved every minute of it. I can’t wait for an excuse to have another party. I plan to make myself busy with lots of arts, crafts & party planning during deployment. I’ll blog about every bit of it. =)

Leave a Reply

