twohundredseventy

Overcoming Deployment One Day at a Time

A Bubbly 2nd Birthday Blowout [Part 3]

on August 14, 2012

**This particular post is more geared toward the do-it-yourself party planners with tips and ideas.  It’s part of my twohundredseventy blog because this is something very special my husband & family got to do together before he leaves.  Enjoy.**

Finally!  We’re almost to the party part of this blowout blog.  Preparing for the party was a much longer process than I expected.  Writing these posts about the party have proven to be the same, but I love being able to share how we did everything and the time we spent together.  Please go check out the 1st and 2nd parts of this post.  I think they’re fun.  🙂

Onward to the party & activities.

Again, I have to give credit to Beth Kruse’s Custom Creations blog for putting these ideas in my head. Y’all should go check her out!

First we took part in some bubble art.  (And that’s about as far as my rhyming skills take me.)  Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of how I set everything up, but here’s a final product.

This is my 9-year-old sister-in-law’s final product. All the kids really enjoyed blowing different colors of bubbles.

What We Used:

  • 4 Styrofoam Cups
  • 4 Bubble Wands
  • 4 Bottles of Bubbles (I used the leftover bottles of bubbles I had after making all the party favors.)
  • Food Coloring (Red, Yellow, Green, Blue)
  • Multi-purpose Paper/Printer Paper
  • Highlighter (Blue…To go with the bubble theme…)

How We Did It:

It’s simple.  I filled each of the cups with one bottle of bubbles then added one food color to each cup.  You can determine the amount of food coloring you put in.  It just depends on how light or dark you want the bubbles.

I made sure to take the bubble wands out of each bottle of bubbles, so each color would have its own wand.

For every kid who came to the party, I wrote his/her name on a sheet of white paper with my handy blue highlighter.  (Blue is a must at a bubble party.  😉 )  This way every kid knew which sheet of paper belonged to him/her.  I’ll do anything to avoid fighting children.

During the party, the kids took turns gathering around the table (OUTSIDE) and blowing various colors of bubbles onto their papers  until their little hearts were content.  There were so many beautiful pieces of artwork.  I wish I would’ve taken more pictures:  Another lesson learned.

I do have this great picture of my husband and son participating in the bubble art, though.  🙂

There were many precious moments like this one at this party that I’m so thankful hubby got to participate in before deployment.

Next activity:  Pipe cleaner bubble wands

I had a large bowl of bubbles (large enough to dip pipe cleaner wands, so that the pipe cleaners could get nice and bubbly) and a bag of pipe cleaners.

I was concerned when I started planning the party over where on Earth to buy pipe cleaners because I hadn’t remembered ever seeing them in stores.  As it turns out, they. are. EVERYWHERE.  I just needed to open my eyes to them.

The pipe cleaners were a little difficult for the toddlers to shape into wands, so my awesome sister-in-law made each of them a wand.  She really enjoyed making different shapes.

Here she is designing a heart-shaped pipe cleaner wand for one of the girls. And, yes, that is my husband going to *lightly* punch her on the arm. Brotherly love. ❤

Unfortunately, we couldn’t get the pipe cleaners to work very well as wands, but they made awesome additional party favors.

I was so pleased with every bit of the party.  From the decoration prep to the balloon fiasco to decorating cupcakes to the party activities, we enjoyed all of it.  Although my little one probably won’t remember this particular party, I know he will enjoy looking at pictures later on.

Most importantly, though, we got to have his 2nd birthday party before my husband deploys.  This time together will never be forgotten and was not taken for granted.  What a bubbly 2nd birthday blowout we had!

Leave a Reply

