twohundredseventy

Overcoming Deployment One Day at a Time

Homemade Hot Pockets

on April 23, 2013
HotPocketBlog2

Flaky crust with ooey, gooey goodness inside? Yes, please!

Well.  As I’ve said I cannot make any promises that I will ever eat entirely Paleo.  It’s because of recipes like this one (and because I adore sweets more than occasionally…shame, I know) that I cannot make such a promise.  Since the day I made these, though, I have begun eating cleaner-very little dairy if any, no added sugar, etc.

Anyway.  These homemade hot pockets were so much fun to make, especially with my boy’s help.  I got the recipe off of Pinterest, of course.  I mean…are there other places to get recipes these days?  I’m not so sure.

Here’s the link to the yummy blog that put this recipe in my kitchen:  The Kitchen Life of a Navy Wife

What I Used:

1 large sheet puffed pastry, thawed (I used Pillsbury brand.)
1 ripe avocado, halved and mashed
9 dollops cream cheese, or approx. 1/3 cup (I used Philadelphia Cream Cheese.)
9 dollops salsa, slightly less than 1/3 cup (I used the fresh stuff from the produce section.)
sea salt and fresh-ground pepper, to taste
1 egg, beaten
How I Did It:
1.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with foil then grease.   I usually grease with Pam Cooking Spray.
2.  Follow the puff pastry package directions to thaw.  I did not thaw entirely.  I found it easier to cut the pastry when it was not entirely thawed out…less sticky that way.
3.  Once thawed cut the pastry into 2”x2” squares.  You should get 18 total squares, which will make 9 pockets.
4.  Split the avocado among 9 of the squares, followed by a dollop of cream cheese on each of those 9 then a dollop of salsa on top of the cream cheese on each of the same 9 squares.  (I used less than 1/3 cup of salsa mainly because I didn’t want my pastry to get soggy from too much liquid.)
*NOTE:  You can add however much of the 3 above ingredients as you like.  Some people may want a little extra avocado, or a little extra cream cheese, or a little extra everything.  Just make sure you don’t overstuff to prevent oozing.*
5.  Sprinkle sea salt and freshly grind a bit of pepper onto each of the 9 square with all the goodies on them.  (I am not a huge salt fan, but these need a little salt love.)
6.  Use the 9 leftover/plain pastry squares to top the filling, and press each side firmly down with a fork to create a tight seal.  (No openings=no oozing!)
7.  In a small bowl, beat an egg to create an egg wash.  This is where my son came in.  He applied the egg wash…with a turkey basting brush.  🙂
HotPocketBlog1
8.  Bake for 15-20 minutes until desired browning and puffing occur.
9.  Enjoy!
Servings:  9
Leave a Reply

